EVENT

Live course on maintaining chemical stability within TSFs

Ecometrix will be presenting its short course, “Maintaining Chemical Stability within Tailings Storage Facilities,” at the 12th annual International Conference on Acid Rock Drainage (ICARD) 2022 virtual event.

Event date Sep 18, 2022 - Sep 24, 2022
Event location Virtual Event

This short course will focus on what we need to consider in the context of the global industry standard on tailings management.

It is intended to provide tailings managers and engineers of record (EoR) a basic understanding of chemical stability considerations in tailings storage facilities, potential geochemical failure modes, and strategies to promote chemical stability while maintaining compatibility with the designs for physical stability.

The course will be presented live at the following times:

  • North America: September 18, 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. (EST)
  • Australia: September 19, 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. (AEST)
  • Europe: September 19, 12 a.m. to 4 a.m. (CEST)


The short course will be broken down as follows:

  1. Course introduction and objectives
  2. Virtual survey: Engagement with participants to focus discussion and topics
  3. Setting the stage: Overview of current tailings guidance and standards
  4. Chemical stability and physical stability: Engineer of Record (EoR) oversight
  5. Geochemical considerations – Metal leaching and acid rock drainage (ML/ARD) prediction and geochemical failure modes
  6. Conceptual geochemical models of tailings behavior: Operations and closure
  7. Dynamic modelling examples over the Mine Life Cycle
  8. TSF design and management for geochemical stability
  9. Participant discussion and review

For more information on ICARD 2022 or to register, visit www.icard2022.com.au.